Science and technology drive development, economic growth, employment and prosperity. TU Austria, uniting TU Wien, TU Graz and MU Leoben under one label, offers a new and promising path. Guided by the principle of “United Through Excellence”, these institutions are setting new standards in science and engineering teaching and research. 

Established in 2010, the initiative has already brought together over 47,000 students and 9,000 employees. Since that time, TU Austria had developed into an influential, well networked and highly visible university forum. Its members work together to tackle today’s important issues in research, teaching and university policymaking. 

The aims of this association are:

  • Adaptation of research focuses and learning offers
  • enhanced cooperation in research, education and services
  • Usage of synergies (e.g. full usage of the infrastructural capacities and the creation of critical masses)
  • united appearance in public
  • Benchmarking for identifying best practice
  • Development of common positions and representation of these interests towards third parties 

Unique in Austria, the initiative has delivered a string of outstanding achievements in teaching and research such as, for example, the outstanding facilities of the Polymer Competence Center Leoben and the degree course on Sustainable Construction. Achievements such as these have made TU Wien, TU Graz and MU Leoben extremely attractive partners for science, business and politics. 

TU Austria supports Austria’s sustainable development. Studies have shown that production output, gross value added and gross investment in technology in Austria are seven times higher than in tourism, for example. There is much greater demand on the domestic and international job market for graduates from TU Austria universities than from other universities. And these graduates also earn more.

Mission

Three Austrian Universities of Technology - One Force - United Through Excellence

Technik und Naturwissenschaften stehen für Fortschritt, Wirtschaftswachstum, Jobs und Wohlstand. Mit der gemeinsamen Initiative TU Austria gehen die Technische Universität Wien (TU Wien), die Technische Universität Graz (TU Graz) und die Montanuniversität Leoben (MU Leoben) einen richtungweisenden Weg. Unter dem Motto „United Through Excellence“ setzen sie Standards in der natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Lehre und in der Forschung. 

2010 gegründet, vereint die Initiative bereits mehr als 46.500 Studierende, 5.000 Graduierte und 9.600 MitarbeiterInnen. TU Austria ist damit ein national wie international gewichtiges, bestens vernetztes und sichtbares universitäres Forum. Gemeinsam verfolgt die Allianz Anliegen in Forschung, Lehre und hochschulpolitischen Fragen. 

Ziele des Zusammenschlusses sind:

  • Abstimmung der Forschungsschwerpunkte und des Lehrangebots
  • verstärkte Kooperation in Forschung, Lehre und Dienstleistungen
  • Nutzung von Synergien (z. B. Auslastung von Infrastrukturen und Bildung kritischer Massen)
  • gemeinsamer Auftritt nach außen
  • Benchmarking zur Identifikation von best practice
  • Entwicklung gemeinsamer Positionen und Vertretung dieser Interessen gegenüber Dritten

Die in Österreich einzigartige Initiative kann herausragende Erfolge in Lehre und Forschung vorweisen: Beispiele sind exzellente Einrichtungen wie das Polymer Competence Center Leoben oder der Universitätslehrgang Nachhaltiges Bauen. TU Wien, TU Graz und MU Leoben sind auch deswegen für Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik äußerst attraktive Partner. 

TU Austria unterstützt die nachhaltige Entwicklung Österreichs. Das beweisen auch Studien: So sind Produktionswert, Brutto-Wertschöpfung und Brutto-Investitionen im Bereich Technologie siebenmal höher als etwa im Tourismus. AbsolventInnen der TU Austria Universitäten werden deutlich mehr auf dem nationalen und internationalen Arbeitsmarkt nachgefragt als AbsolventInnen anderer Hochschulen. Und sie verdienen auch mehr.